Watch Now: Player Reaction: Patrick Mahomes Signs 10-Year Extension With Chiefs (8:17)

Patrick Mahomes and the Kansas City Chiefs have struck a whopping 10-year contract extension that will keep the reigning Super Bowl MVP in Missouri through 2031, and not only that, but the deal tops out at $503 million, according to ESPN’s Adam Schefter. CBS Sports’ Jason La Canfora reports Mahomes’ 10-year extension will be guided by a mechanism that ensures the quarterback’s annual salary never drops below certain salary cap thresholds. This is another win for Mahomes and company.

How, exactly, do the rest of the league’s QBs stack up in terms of contracts, though? Here’s a rundown of the top 20 highest-paid signal-callers entering the 2020 season:

Player Team Contract Length Average Per Year Year Signed

Patrick Mahomes


10 years



Russell Wilson


4 years



Ben Roethlisberger Steelers 2 years $34M 2019
Aaron Rodgers Packers 4 years $33.5M 2018

Jared Goff


4 years



Kirk Cousins Vikings 2 years $33M 2020
Carson Wentz Eagles 4 years $32M 2019
Dak Prescott Cowboys 1 year $31.4M 2020
Matt Ryan Falcons 5 years $30M 2018

Ryan Tannehill


4 years



Jimmy Garoppolo 49ers 5 years $27.5M 2018
Matthew Stafford Lions 5 years $27M 2017
Derek Carr Raiders 5 years $25M 2017
Drew Brees Saints 2 years $25M 2020
Tom Brady Buccaneers 2 years $25M 2020
Philip Rivers Colts 1 year $25M 2020
Alex Smith Washington 4 years $23.5M 2018
Teddy Bridgewater Panthers 3 years $21M 2020
Taysom Hill Saints 1 year $16.3M 2020
Jacoby Brissett Colts 2 years $15M 2019

*Mahomes’ deal is worth $477 million but can top out at $503 million — so he will earn at least $47 million annually.

Among the top 20 highest-paid QBs in terms of average annual salary, all but five signed their contracts in the last two years, with Mahomes set to eclipse all of them on his lucrative 10-year extension.